Neal McQueen
Perilous Hope - A Documentary on Refugees

May 21 to June 30, 2016

:  –

Idomeni, March 16, 2016

From May 21 to June 30, 2016 The Berlin Galerie Hilaneh von Kories will present photographs by the German photographer Neal McQueen under the title “Perilous Hope - A Photodocumentary on Refugees”.

Never since World War II have so many refugees been on the road worldwide and especially in Europe. Every day we read and hear in news and reports about escape routes, people smugglers, dramatic situations and the frequent tragic failure of many escape attempts. As opposed to many photojournalists who give the European refugee crisis visual reality Neal McQueen sees himself more as an independent photographer, as a humanitarian activist.

For many years Neal McQueen has been engaged with the social and political changes in Europe. In the summer of 2015 he traveled to Greece, again and again. In the spring of 2016 he also worked on the Greek-Macedonian border in Idomeni. It is this spot which received international attention, because after the border was closed thousands of desperate refugees moving along the so-called Balkan Route were stopped in this little border town. They could not move on and were thus forced to remain in the region under appalling conditions. The shocking plight of Syrian refugees in Athens determined his resolution to deal with the refugee crisis in a deeper and more intensive way. In the fall of 2015 he returned to Athens and then continued on to Lesbos. It only took a few days for him to realize the dimension of this humanitarian crisis and so he decided to stay. Since last summer Lesbos has been one of the major refuge spots in the east Mediterranean Sea. Very hesitatingly did the local administration get international help, so that the conditions on the island were unbearable. Other Greek islands were also important locations of refuge and the routes changed constantly, but still most refugees landed on Lesbos: Every day several thousand people. Every one of them has his own tragedy, his own history, which made him undergo this life-threatening passage to Europe. The individual easily disappears behind the numbers and statistics of press publications. McQueen’s photographs which show his sympathy with the plight of the refugees give the individual a face, a perception. Apart from this he accompanies and documents the movement of private volunteers. He watches and supports the development and actions of new NGOs and at the same time casts a critical eye on the behavior of the established, large government institutions.

Neal McQueen: Lesbos, December 15, 2015
Lesbos, December 15, 2015
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, January 1, 2016
Lesbos, January 1, 2016
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, January 26, 2016
Lesbos, January 26, 2016

“Being a photographer has changed me, has made me grow as a human being, has changed my view of the world. When I work with my camera I am totally focused as if in meditation. Since April 2015 I have almost exclusively worked on documentary projects, which means that I see my role more as a humanitarian activist than as a journalist.”(Neal McQueen)

Although fewer refugees reach Germany at the moment than some months ago, this problem will continue to occupy us. The fact that Europe will change or rather must change is clear to everyone now. Photographs show the historical failing of our civilization in this refugee crisis. They are the most potent medium to convey experiences that someone else has made. For whatever we cannot see can be all the easier suppressed and forgotten. So McQueen‘s photos are therefore utterly necessary. They demand an attitude from everyone who looks at them. “The photograph says: Put an end to this, intervene, act. And that is the decisive, the correct reaction.” (Susan Sontag; from Regarding the Pain of Others, 2003)

The photographs of Neal McQueen‘s Non-Profit Project are presented for the first time in a gallery. His work is characterized by directness, personal closeness to the portrayed people and their dramatic living conditions. The photos and texts will be presented on large paper banners in order to underline the spontaneous, direct formation process of the photographs.

Neal McQueen: Lesbos, December 25, 2015
Lesbos, December 25, 2015
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, January 30, 2016
Lesbos, January 30, 2016
Neal McQueen: Idomeni, March 16, 2016
Idomeni, March 16, 2016

“Quo Vadis Europe?”: The second series, which will be presented in Galerie Hilaneh von Kories was taken between April to June 2015 and it offers an insight into Neal McQueen‘s not yet completed long-term project, which takes him through Europe looking for new perspectives and inspiration. He interviewed all kinds of people and personalities about their view of Europe at present. His intensive black and white portraits are accompanied by extensive interviews, so that the observer is confronted with the many voices of Europe.

Biographical details: Neal McQueen, born in 1969 in Hamburg, got already interested in photography as an adolescent. At 14 his father, a widely traveled captain, gave him a Russian camera equipment. What became more important was music. McQueen was active in various genres of the music scene as a singer, instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, sound engineer and DJ for over 25 years, until he returned to photography in 2011. His photographic topics, which he originally worked on totally with analogue technique, are now almost exclusively realized with digital equipment, yet he stayed true to his preference for the black and white picture. From 2015 working as an independent photographer McQueen has focused mainly on documentary projects.

Hompage „Perilous Hope“: http://periloushope.tumblr.com
Hompage „Quo Vadis Europa“: http://quo-vadis-europa.tumblr.com

More information about this exhibition

interviews "Quo Vadis Europa?"

Neal McQueen
Perilous Hope - A Documentary on Refugees

May 21 to June 30, 2016

Opening Hours:
Tuesday to Friday 14–19
Saturday 12–15
and by appointment

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Belziger Straße 35
10823 Berlin
Fon: +49 (30) 787 13 65 0
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑

Neal McQueen
Perilous Hope - A Documentary on Refugees

21. Mai bis 30. Juni 2016

:  –

Idomeni, 16. März 2016

Unter dem Titel „Perilous Hope – A Documentary on Refugees“ präsentiert die Berliner Galerie Hilaneh von Kories vom 21.05.2016 bis zum 30.06.2016 Fotografien des deutschen Fotografen Neal McQueen.

Noch nie waren seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs weltweit und vor allem auch in Europa so viele Flüchtlinge unterwegs, wie heute. Täglich hören und lesen wir in den Nachrichten und Berichten über Fluchtrouten, Schlepper, dramatische Situationen und das oftmals tragische Scheitern vieler Fluchtversuche. Anders als viele Bildjournalisten, die der europäischen Flüchtlingskrise eine visuelle Wahrnehmung geben, versteht sich Neal McQueen eher als unabhängiger Fotograf, als humanitärer Aktivist.

Seit vielen Jahren beschäftigt sich Neal McQueen mit gesellschaftlichen und politischen Veränderungen in Europa. Viele Male ist er in den letzten zwei Jahren nach Griechenland gereist. Im Frühjahr 2016 arbeitete er an der griechisch-mazedonischen Grenze in Idomeni. Insbesondere dieser Ort hat internationale Aufmerksamkeit erhalten, stauten sich doch in diesem kleinen Grenzort nach Schließung der so genannten Balkanrouten tausende von verzweifelten Flüchtlingen, denen die Weiterreise verwehrt wurde und die so gezwungen waren unter unmenschlichen Bedingungen in der Grenzregion auszuharren. Aufgrund seiner Erfahrungen mit der schockierenden Situation syrischer Flüchtlinge in Athen hatte McQueen bereits im Sommer 2015 beschlossen, sich intensiver mit der Flüchtlingskrise auseinanderzusetzen. Im Herbst 2015 kehrte er erneut nach Athen zurück, reiste dann weiter auf die Insel Lesbos. Innerhalb weniger Tage wurde ihm das Ausmaß der humanitären Krise deutlich und so beschloss der Fotograf, dort zu bleiben. Lesbos ist seit dem Sommer letzten Jahres einer der zentralen Flüchtlingsorte im östlichen Mittelmeer. Nur zögerlich wurden die örtlichen Stellen durch internationale Hilfe unterstützt, so dass die Bedingungen auf der Insel kaum erträglich sind. Zwar waren auch andere griechische Inseln wichtige Anlaufpunkte und die Routen änderten sich beständig, doch landeten vor allem auf Lesbos die meisten Flüchtlinge: jeden Tag mehrere tausend Menschen. Und jeder dieser Menschen hat sein eigenes Schicksal, seine eigene Geschichte, die ihn zu der lebensbedrohlichen Überfahrt nach Europa getrieben hat. Der einzelne Mensch verschwindet hinter den Zahlen und Statistiken der Presseberichte allzu leicht. Mit seinen empathischen Fotografien gibt McQueen auch dem Einzelnen wieder ein Gesicht, eine Wahrnehmung. Darüber hinaus begleitet er fotografisch die Bewegung der privaten Volunteers, beobachtet und unterstützt das Entstehen und Wirken neuer NGOs und wirft dabei immer auch einen kritischen Blick auf das Verhalten der etablierten großen staatlichen Institutionen.

Neal McQueen: Lesbos, 15. Dezember 2015
Lesbos, 15. Dezember 2015
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, 1. Januar 2016
Lesbos, 1. Januar 2016
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, 26. Januar 2016
Lesbos, 26. Januar 2016

„Die Fotografie hat mich verändert, hat mich als Mensch wachsen lassen, meinen Blick auf die Welt verändert. Wenn ich mit einer Kamera arbeite, bin ich fokussiert wie in einer Meditation. Seit April 2015 arbeite ich nahezu ausschließlich an dokumentarischen Projekten, wobei ich meine Rolle viel mehr als humanistischer Aktivist begreife denn als Journalist.“ (Neal McQueen)

Auch wenn in Deutschland derzeit weniger Flüchtlinge ankommen, als noch vor ein paar Monaten, so wird uns das Thema auch weiterhin beschäftigen. Dass sich Europa ändern wird, ändern muss, ist mittlerweile jedem klar. Fotografien dokumentieren das historische Versagen unserer Zivilisation in dieser Flüchtlingskrise. Fotografien sind das wirkungsvollste Medium, wenn es darum geht, fremde Erfahrungen zu vermitteln. Denn das, was wir nicht sehen, kann umso leichter verdrängt und vergessen werden. Auch McQueens Fotografien sind daher notwendig. Sie fordern von jedem Betrachter eine Haltung ein. „Das Bild sagt: setz dem ein Ende, interveniere, handle. Und dies ist die entscheidende, die korrekte Reaktion.“ (Susan Sontag; aus: Das Leiden anderer betrachten, 2003)

Die Fotografien des Non-Profit-Projektes von Neal McQueen werden zum ersten Mal in einer Galerie ausgestellt. Sein Werk ist geprägt von der Unmittelbarkeit, der persönlichen Nähe zu den von ihm porträtierten Menschen und ihren dramatischen Lebensverhältnissen. Präsentiert werden die Fotografien und Texte auf großen Papierfahnen um somit den spontanen, direkten Entstehungsprozess der Aufnahmen zu unterstreichen.

Neal McQueen: Lesbos, 25. Dezember 2015
Lesbos, 25. Dezember 2015
Neal McQueen: Lesbos, 30. Januar 2016
Lesbos, 30. Januar 2016
Neal McQueen: Idomeni, 16. März 2016
Idomeni, 16. März 2016

„Quo Vadis Europa“: Die zweite Serie, die in der Galerie Hilaneh von Kories präsentiert wird, entstand zwischen April und Juni 2015 und ist ein Einblick in das noch nicht abgeschlossene Langzeitprojekt des Fotografen, in dem er auf der Suche nach neuen Blickwinkeln und Inspirationen quer durch Europa reisend, die unterschiedlichsten Menschen und Persönlichkeiten zu ihrer Meinung über das heutige Europa befragt. Seine eindringlichen fotografischen Schwarzweiß-Porträts werden von umfangreichen Interviews begleitet, so dass sich auch für den Betrachter die Vielstimmigkeit Europas widerspiegelt.

Biografische Angaben: Neal McQueen (*1969 in Hamburg) interessierte sich schon als Jugendlicher für die Fotografie: mit vierzehn Jahren erhielt er von seinem Vater, einem viel gereistem Kapitän, eine russische Kamera-Ausrüstung. Wichtiger sollte jedoch zunächst die Musik werden. Als Sänger, Instrumentalist, Songwriter, Produzent, Toningenieur und DJ war McQueen für über 25 Jahre in den verschiedensten Genres der Musikszene unterwegs, bis er 2011 wieder zurück zur Fotografie fand. Seine fotografischen Themen, die er zunächst bevorzugt in analoger Technik erarbeitete, werden aktuell fast ausschließlich mit digitaler Ausrüstung umgesetzt, dabei ist er aber seiner Vorliebe zum schwarzweißen Bild treu geblieben. Als unabhängiger Fotograf konzentriert sich McQueen seit April 2015 vor allem auf dokumentarische Projekte.

Blog zum Projekt „Perilous Hope“: http://periloushope.tumblr.com
Blog zum Projekt „Quo Vadis Europa“: http://quo-vadis-europa.tumblr.com

Weitere Informationen zu dieser Ausstellung

Interviews "Quo Vadis Europa?"

Neal McQueen
Perilous Hope - A Documentary on Refugees

21. Mai bis 30. Juni 2016

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstags bis Freitags 14–19 Uhr
Samstags 12–15 Uhr
und nach Vereinbarung

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Belziger Straße 35
10823 Berlin
Fon: +49 (30) 787 13 65 0
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑