Mario Marino Mario Marino Vita→ Vita
Portraits - Photographs from the years 2011 – 2015

October 01, 2016 to February 10, 2017

:  –

Portrait eines Gypsie Mädchens, Indien 2014

From 1 October, 2016 to 10 February, 2017 the Berlin-based Galerie Hilaneh von Kories will present the exhibition „Portraits - Photographs from the years 2011 - 2015“ by photographer Mario Marino, who was born in Austria and is now living in Germany. The eighteen presented photographs in large format and in colour or black and white offer an insight into the current work of the photographer.

His work focuses on human beings. During numerous voyages to most different regions of the world the photographer has incessantly collected his very personal gallery of fascinating portraits. His pictures, which are characterized by respect and deep empathy, are not only powerful portraits, but they also reveal elucidating insights into everyday life of the portrayed people and thus enable the viewer to take part in the life of the portrayed. Again and again, the photographer is able to create a visually consistent relationship between viewer and portrayed people - despite all ethnic and cultural differences. Even if the clothing and photographing sites seem at first glance strange the emotions presented and the dignified poses seem familiar. Employing his suggestive and direct photographic work Marino attempts to produce an authentic view of the portrayed individuals. The camera does not act as a disturbing filter but rather as an open mirror. By the perfect interaction of detail and composition as well as the virtuous handling of black-and-white contrasts or colour compositions he was able to create unique portraits. It is hard to withdraw from these portraits which Marino calls „photographic profiles“ .The viewer‘s interest is aroused and they make a lasting impression on his mind.

The pictures shown in Galerie Hilaneh von Kories were produced in Africa in 2011, on Cuba in 2012, in Mexico in 2015, but mainly in India, a country which the photographer has visited repeatedly between 2012 and 2015. „I am highly interested in different cultures, especially the Indian culture. I am fascinated by the extraordinary Indian faces as well as the cultural background and the identity of the people.“

Mario Marino: Portrait eines Bettlers, Indien 2013
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Portrait eines Bettlers, Indien 2013
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 40 x 30 cm
Portrait eines Mannes, Indien, 2013

For months Marino has prepared his voyages by extensive research. But despite all his attempts at perfection coincidence decides on the spot about the selection of the people portrayed, because „which people I would meet and how they would react could hardly be anticipated,“ says Marino. Whether street or marketplace, backyard or open desert: with simple means and natural light the photographer creates a direct vividness with his motifs. His portraits are at the same time captivatingly simple and artistically complex.

The interaction between photographic perfection and spontaneous reaction to the situation becomes especially visible in the portrait on an Indian man with his two children, which was taken in 2013. „I met this father with his two children by chance in Pushkar, Rajasthan. My driver and I had cruised the town for about seven hours and we were very tired. We were having a drink, when this beautiful man asked me for some rupees. He is a beggar. It was this incredible charisma. Immediately I began to look for a background, a wall or something similar. I asked him to stand in the shade, the sunlight from the opposite side acted as brightener. That was all. I took four to five pictures, gave him some rupees and they left.“

„It is important for me to show the beauty and dignity of the human being, even if there exists a lot of horror, cruelty and poverty in the world. But, all in all, I really love people and that is the key. While taking pictures it is important that the people feel that I am honestly and sincerely interested in them. Otherwise I would not receive this intensity.“

Biography: Mario Marino was born in Hall in Tyrol, Austria in 1967. Since 2000 he has been living and working in Germany as a free photographer. During his trips through Europe, Africa, Cuba, India, Nepal and Mexico intense portrait series were produced, which are especially characterized by the empathic visual language of the photographer.

Mario Marino‘s work has been presented nationally and internationally by numerous galleries and museums; for instance in Amsterdam, Basel, Berlin, Bristol, Brussels, Köln, Dubai, Edinburgh, Essen, Geneva, Miami and München. Additionally his work was described and commented on in many national and international publications: Among others Artnet, British Journal of Photography, Daily Photo News, Evening Standard, The Washington Post, The Guardian, National Geographic (Daily Dozen), Profi Foto, PhotoZoom Magazine, The Independent, Die Welt and Vogue.

More photos from this exhibition

Mario Marino: Portrait eines Pilgers, Indien, 2014
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Open image gallery
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mönches, Indien, 2012
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 60 x 85 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Sadhus, Indien, 2012
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Thar Wüste, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Suman, Gypsie Mädchen, Indien 2014
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait einer Frau , Mexico, 2015
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 60 x 45 cm
Mario Marino: Boxer, Cuba, 2012
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Jeremina & Ninjo, Cuba 2012
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Charro Jungen, Mexico 2015
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 50 x 40 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 40 x 30 cm (Sonderedition - Exklusiv nur im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung erhältlich)
Mario Marino: Arduni, Karo Junge, Äthiopien 2011
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Kuechenjunge und Muslimschueler, Jaisalmer, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 60 x 45 cm
Mario Marino: Mursi Mädchen, Äthiopien, 2011
Archival Pigment Print on Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm

More infos about this artist

Mario Marino: VitaOpen vita

:  –

Mario Marino
Portraits - Photographs from the years 2011 – 2015

October 01, 2016 to February 10, 2017

Opening Hours:
Tuesday to Friday 14–19
Saturday 12–15
and by appointment

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Belziger Straße 35
10823 Berlin
Fon: +49 (30) 787 13 65 0
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑

This exhibition in the media

top ↑

Mario Marino Mario Marino Vita→ Vita
Portraits - Fotografien aus den Jahren 2011 – 2015

1. Oktober 2016 bis 10. Februar 2017

:  –

Portrait eines Gypsie Mädchens, Indien 2014

Die Berliner Galerie Hilaneh von Kories präsentiert vom
1. Oktober 2016 bis 10. Februar 2017 die Ausstellung „Portraits. Fotografien aus den Jahren 2011 – 2015“ des in Österreich geborenen und in Deutschland lebenden Fotografen Mario Marino. Die 18 ausgestellten großformatigen farbigen und schwarzweißen Aufnahmen geben Einblick in die aktuelle Arbeit des Fotografen.

Im Mittelpunkt seines Werkes steht der Mensch. Unermüdlich hat der Fotograf in den letzten Jahren auf zahllosen Reisen in die unterschiedlichsten Regionen der Welt seine ganz persönliche Galerie von faszinierenden Portraits zusammengetragen. Seine von Respekt und starker Empathie getragenen Aufnahmen sind nicht nur intensive Portraits, sondern sie geben zum Teil auch erhellende Einblicke in den Alltag der von ihm fotografierten Menschen und ermöglichen es dem Betrachter, Anteil am Leben des Portraitierten zu erhalten. So gelingt es dem Fotografen immer wieder, eine visuell verbindliche Beziehung zwischen dem Betrachter und dem Gegenüber herzustellen – trotz aller ethnischen und kulturellen Unterschiede. So fremd die Kleidung und Aufnahmeorte auf den ersten Blick auch erscheinen mögen, so vertraut wirken doch die in den Motiven eingefangenen Emotionen und würdevollen Posen. Mit seiner suggestiven und direkten Fotografie versucht Marino, den von ihm portraitierten Individuen ein möglichst authentisches Bild zu entlocken. Die Kamera erscheint nicht als störender Filter, sondern vielmehr als ein offener Spiegel. Im perfekten Zusammenspiel von Ausschnitt und Komposition sowie im virtuosen Umgang mit Schwarzweißkontrasten oder Farbkompositionen sind einzigartige Portraits entstanden. Diesen von Marino als „fotografische Psychogramme“ bezeichneten Portraits kann man sich kaum entziehen; die ausdrucksstarken Portraits wecken das Interesse des Betrachters und prägen sich nachhaltig ein.

Die in der Galerie Hilaneh von Kories gezeigten Aufnahmen entstanden 2011 in Afrika, 2012 auf Kuba und 2015 in Mexiko, vor allem aber in Indien, ein Land, das der Fotograf in den Jahren 2012 und 2015 immer wieder besucht hat: „Ich bin sehr an anderen Kulturen interessiert, insbesondere der indischen Kultur. Mich faszinieren die außergewöhnlichen indischen Gesichter genauso wie der kulturelle Hintergrund und die Identität der Menschen.“

Mario Marino: Portrait eines Bettlers, Indien 2013
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Portrait eines Bettlers, Indien 2013
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 40 x 30 cm
Portrait eines Mannes, Indien, 2013

Seine Reisen hat Marino oft monatelang durch umfangreiche Recherchen vorbereitet. Doch bei aller Perfektion entscheidet dann vor Ort aber oft der Zufall über die Auswahl der von ihm portraitierten Menschen, denn „welche Menschen ich treffe und wie sie reagieren würden, konnte ich nur erahnen“, so der Fotograf. Ob Straße oder Marktplatz, Hinterhof oder freies Wüstenfeld: mit einfachen Mitteln und natürlichem Licht erreicht der Fotograf eine unmittelbare Eindringlichkeit in seinen Motiven. Seine Portraits sind zugleich bestechend einfach und kunstvoll vieldeutig.

Besonders deutlich wird das Zusammenspiel zwischen fotografischer Perfektion und spontaner Reaktion auf die Situation in dem Portrait eines indischen Mannes mit seinen zwei Kindern, das 2013 entstand: „Ich traf diesen Vater mit seinen beiden Kindern durch Zufall in Pushkar, Rajasthan. Mein Fahrer und ich waren etwa sieben Stunden in der Stadt umhergefahren und wir waren sehr müde. Wir nahmen gerade einen Drink, als dieser schöne Mann mich um einige Rupien bat. Er ist ein Bettler. Es war diese unglaubliche Ausstrahlung. Sofort begann ich einen Hintergrund zu suchen, eine Hauswand oder etwas Ähnliches. Ich stellte ihn in den Schatten; das Sonnenlicht von der gegenüberliegenden Seite war der Aufheller. Das war alles. Ich nahm vier oder fünf Bilder auf, gab ihm ein paar Rupien, und sie gingen weg.“

„Für mich ist es wichtig, die Schönheit und die Würde des Menschen zu zeigen, auch wenn es eine Menge an Schrecken, Grausamkeit und Armut in unserer Welt gibt. Aber alles in allem liebe ich die Menschen wirklich und das ist der Schlüssel. Während der Aufnahme ist es notwendig, dass die Menschen spüren, dass ich ehrlich und aufrichtig an ihnen interessiert bin. Sonst könnte ich diese Intensität nicht erhalten.“

Biografie: Mario Marino wurde 1967 in Hall in Tirol, Österreich geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet seit 2000 als freier Fotograf in Deutschland. Auf seinen Reisen durch Europa, Afrika, Kuba, Indien, Nepal und Mexiko entstanden intensive Portrait-Serien, die insbesondere von der emphatischen Bildsprache des Fotografen getragen werden.

Mario Marinos Werke wurden in den letzten Jahren von zahlreichen Galerien und Museen national und international ausgestellt; unter anderem in Amsterdam, Basel, Berlin, Bristol, Brüssel, Köln, Dubai, Edinburgh, Essen, Genf, Miami und München. Zudem wurde in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Publikationen über Mario Marino und seine Fotografien berichtet: u.a. Artnet, British Journal of Photography, Daily Photo News, Evening Standard, The Washington Post, The Guardian, National Geographic (Daily Dozen), Profi Foto, PhotoZoom Magazine, The Independent, Die Welt und Vogue.

Weitere Motive dieser Ausstellung

Mario Marino: Portrait eines Pilgers, Indien, 2014
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Fotoserie öffnen
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mönches, Indien, 2012
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Farmers, Indien, 2013
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 60 x 85 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Sadhus, Indien, 2012
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Thar Wüste, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Suman, Gypsie Mädchen, Indien 2014
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait einer Frau , Mexico, 2015
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 60 x 45 cm
Mario Marino: Boxer, Cuba, 2012
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm
Mario Marino: Jeremina & Ninjo, Cuba 2012
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Charro Jungen, Mexico 2015
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 50 x 40 cm
Mario Marino: Portrait eines Mannes, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 40 x 30 cm (Sonderedition - Exklusiv nur im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung erhältlich)
Mario Marino: Arduni, Karo Junge, Äthiopien 2011
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 140 x 110 cm
Mario Marino: Kuechenjunge und Muslimschueler, Jaisalmer, Indien 2015
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 60 x 45 cm
Mario Marino: Mursi Mädchen, Äthiopien, 2011
Archival Pigment Print auf Hahnemühle, 85 x 60 cm

Weitere Informationen zu dieser Ausstellung

Mario Marino: VitaVita öffnen

:  –

Mario Marino
Portraits - Fotografien aus den Jahren 2011 – 2015

1. Oktober 2016 bis 10. Februar 2017

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstags bis Freitags 14–19 Uhr
Samstags 12–15 Uhr
und nach Vereinbarung

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Belziger Straße 35
10823 Berlin
Fon: +49 (30) 787 13 65 0
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑

Veröffentlichungen zu dieser Ausstellung

top ↑