Andreas Deffner:Andreas Deffner Vita→ Vita
White, too white
A Portrait of Albinism in India

August 24 to December 15 2006

:  –

Zenab, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 160 x 120 cm

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories will present a collection of images by photographer Andreas Deffner who has captured people in India with the rare genetic disorder in a new light.

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories is pleased to announce the exhibit »White, Too White« with images by photographer Andreas Deffner. His portraits of people affected by albinism will be shown in the gallery rooms in Hamburg from August 24 until December 15, 2006.

Albinism is considered to be the first genetic disorder ever recognized. It is caused by a body's lack of ability to form the pigment melanin. The pigmentation of iris and choroid may also be deficient, allowing light to penetrate directly through the structures of the eye rather than only through the pupil - the main reason for a heightened sensitivity towards the exposure of sunlight.

It was a meeting with a person with albinism from Pondicherry in Southern India that inspired Andreas Deffner to persue his remarkable artistic endeavor. He spent four years finding people from different walks of life and took his images in a specially designed, moveable daylight studio, where they also were interviewed by Indian sociologist Tejas Joseph.

The visual vocabulary of the color photos in the exhibit »White, Too White«, some of which come in large format, is strikingly vivid and bold. The strong light-skinned man with a crew cut and bright eyes: he is an Indian? The small ethereal looking girl with white blond curly hair and the angel-like, nordic looking boy with blue eyes and milky skin: they are Indian as well? And what about the old blonde lady with a captivating complexion and the odd-looking white dappled skin? You are curious and want to take a closer look, but you feel timid at the same time. Meanwhile, the people in those portraits - photographed in front of a white background - display directness and openness. We are allowed to marvel at their beauty and their courage, and to study the alien character of their blotchy skin. We feel the sensitivity of their eyes, which are filled with pain.

Andreas Deffner: Kulshan, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
Kulshan
Kulshan
Andreas Deffner: Layanya, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 160 x 120 cm
Layanya
Layanya
Andreas Deffner: S. Rafique, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
S. Rafique
S. Rafique
Andreas Deffner: S. Nagaraj, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
S. Nagaraj
S. Nagaraj
Andreas Deffner: Selvaraj, 2005
C-Print on Alu-DIBOND, ca. 65 x 50 cm
Selvaraj
Selvaraj

Andreas Deffner explains the thought process behind his project: »I wanted to show how physical appearance becomes center stage when I, as a photographer, recognize and respect that person. I changed the viewpoint of people with albinism. Usually, they are being looked at. In my pictures they act as themselves and look at the spectator. In my mind, photography can assist in raising awareness for minorities and the problems they are facing, of which most people have no idea.«

Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Two Families, Four Plates

Andreas Deffner, born in 1959, studied photography and has been working as a free-lance photographer from 1980 on. After living in Paris and Hamburg for many years, he moved to Berlin. In 1992 he made Tamil Nadu, the southernmost state of India, his second home.

More infos about this artist

Andreas Deffner: Vitaopen vita

Andreas Deffner:
White, too white
A Portrait of Albinism in India

August 24 to December 15 2006
Vernissage: August 23, 2008, 19:00h | Laudatio: Prof. Klaus Honnef
Opening Hours: Tuesday to Friday 14:00–19:00h and by appointment

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Stresemannstraße 384a (in the courtyard)
22761 Hamburg
Tel: +49 (40) 423 20 10
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑

This exhibition in the media

Sponsors:

top ↑

Andreas Deffner:Andreas Deffner Vita→ Vita
White, too white
A Portrait of Albinism in India

24. August bis 15. Dezember 2006

:  –

Zenab, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 160 x 120 cm

Die Hamburger Galerie Hilaneh von Kories zeigt einen Werkzyklus des Berliner Fotografen Andreas Deffner mit Portraitstudien von Menschen in Indien, die von Albinismus betroffen sind.

Vom 24. August bis 15. Dezember 2006 präsentiert die Galerie Hilaneh von Kories in Hamburg in der Ausstellung »White, too white« einen Bilderzyklus des Berliner Fotografen Andreas Deffner. Gezeigt werden Portraits indischer Menschen, die von Albinismus betroffen sind. Albinismus ist ein genetisch bedingter Pigmentmangel in Haut, Haaren und Augen, der immer auch die Sehkraft beeinträchtigt. Die Betroffenen leiden unter extremer Lichtempfindlichkeit.

Eine erste Begegnung mit einem von Albinismus betroffenen Menschen in der südindischen Stadt Pondicherry inspirierte den Fotografen Deffner zu diesem ungewöhnlichen künstlerischen Projekt, dessen Realisierung vier Jahre dauerte. Die Menschen, die bereit waren, sich vom ihm portraitieren zu lassen, stammen aus unterschiedlichsten sozialen Schichten. Deffner fotografierte in einem eigens für dieses Projekt entwickelten transportablen Tageslicht-Studio. Begleitend dazu befragte der Soziologe Tejas Joseph die Betroffenen zu ihren Lebensumständen.

Die Bildsprache der zum Teil sehr großformatigen Farbfotografien, die nun in der Ausstellung »White, too white« zu sehen sind, ist beeindruckend klar. Die Porträits sind von großer Intensität und außerordentlich irritierend. Denn nichts ist, wie es oberflächlich scheint. Der kräftige hellhäutige Mann mit dem blonden Kurzhaarschnitt und den hellen Augen - ein Inder? Das kleine weißblond gelockte ätherische Mädchen und der engelhafte nordische Junge mit den blauen Augen und dem milchigen Teint – indisch? Und die blonde alte Dame mit dem interessanten Gesicht und der seltsam gefleckten weißen Haut? Man ist neugierig, möchte genau hinsehen und fühlt sich ein wenig befangen. Aber die Portraitierten präsentieren sich dem Betrachter vor einem weißen Hintergrund direkt und offen. Wir dürfen ihre Schönheit und ihren Mut bewundern, die Fremdartigkeit ihrer fleckigen Haut studieren, wir fühlen die Empfindlichkeit ihrer schmerzenden Augen, und wir denken über die Bedeutung von Hautfarbe nach.

Andreas Deffner: Kulshan, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
Kulshan
Kulshan
Andreas Deffner: Layanya, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 160 x 120 cm
Layanya
Layanya
Andreas Deffner: S. Rafique, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
S. Rafique
S. Rafique
Andreas Deffner: S. Nagaraj, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 125 x 100 cm
S. Nagaraj
S. Nagaraj
Andreas Deffner: Selvaraj, 2005
C-Print auf Alu-DIBOND, ca. 65 x 50 cm
Selvaraj
Selvaraj

Deffner über sein Projekt: »Ich wollte mit den Portraits zeigen, welche zentrale Bedeutung die physische Erscheinung einer Person hat, wenn ich ihr als Fotograf Anerkennung und Respekt zolle. Und ich habe die Situation dieser von Albinismus betroffenen Menschen umgekehrt. Normalerweise werden sie von anderen angesehen, in meinen Bilder stellen sie sich dar und sehen die Betrachter an. Fotografie kann, denke ich, helfen, Bewusstsein für die besondere Problematik einer Minderheit schaffen, von der die meisten Menschen nichts ahnen.«

Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Andreas Deffner: Two Families, Four Plates
Alu-DIBOND mit UV-Schutzfolie, ca. 100 x 80 cm
Andreas Deffner: »Two Families, Four Plates«
Two Families, Four Plates

Andreas Deffner, Jahrgang 1959, studierte Fotografie und arbeitet seit 1980 als freischaffender Fotograf. Nach Stationen in Paris und Hamburg lebt er heute in Berlin. Seit 1992 hat er einen zweiten Wohnsitz in Tamil Nadu, Südindien.

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Künstler

Andreas Deffner: VitaVita öffnen

Andreas Deffner:
White, too white
A Portrait of Albinism in India

24. August bis 15. Dezember 2006
Vernissage: 23. August 2006, 19 Uhr | Laudatio: Prof. Klaus Honnef
Öffnungszeiten: Dienstags bis Freitags 14–19 Uhr u.n.V.

Galerie Hilaneh von Kories
Stresemannstraße 384a (im Hof)
22761 Hamburg
Fon: +49 (40) 423 20 10
mail@galeriehilanehvonkories.de
www.galeriehilanehvonkories.de

top ↑

Veröffentlichungen zu dieser Ausstellung

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

top ↑